Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Students, Reading Bowl Teams Earn State Literary Honors [1]

CCSD Students, Reading Bowl Teams Earn State Literary Honors [1]

Cherokee County School District students earned honors at an annual statewide literary competition, including two first-place wins!

Tome Student Literacy Society is a national organization dedicated to promoting reading among fourth- through 12th-grade students through club activities, community service and competition.  The program also helps students develop “self-esteem, leadership skills, strong values, and critical thinking, creativity and imagination in the digital age.”

Students work all year on projects to submit digitally for the state conference called TomeCon, while some competitions, such as Reading Bowl, are held in person at the event which was held this month at the University of North Georgia Gainesville Campus.  TomeCon also includes many activities for students, such as writing, illustration and technology workshops.

Two Teasley Middle School entries earned first-place: seventh-graders Aryn Bracewell and Elise Martin won first place for their Book Review Vlog, and Elise additionally earned first-place for her Fan Fiction.  The school’s chapter, which is led by teacher coaches Beth DuLong and JamieLynn Lisa, also was named Honor Roll Chapter of the Year.

E.T. Booth Middle School’s reading bowl team earned second place in the statewide competition.  The team is coached by media specialist Amanda Graves and teacher Jamie Stahler and members who competed at TomeCon are Nivesh Addepalli, Hakshara Bisetty, Ava Bourgault, Ahana Das, Evelyn Jackson, Thomas Joyce, Timi Ojo, Rohan Pandya, Eva Schwartz, Saived Tayi, Keirthen Titus and Pradhyumna Vasishta.

“Congratulations to all of our winning students and to Ms. Graves – what an outstanding recognition of your service!” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “Literacy is our top learning priority, as reading and writing are foundational skills critical to the success of every student.  Tome programs are a wonderful additional opportunity for our students to further develop their skills, have fun, serve the community and earn recognition for their hard work and dedication.  Thank you to all of our teachers and media specialists who support our Tome program!”

The Cherokee County School Board and Dr. Hightower will recognize the first-place winners at an upcoming school board meeting.

CCSD students also earned second- and third-place awards in individual events, with several students selected for induction into the organization’s honor society.

Second-Place Awards
Willow Ivester of E.T. Booth MS for Book Cover Redesign 
Elena Kubit of Creekview HS for Theme Essay and Fan Art 
Jojo Meyer of Teasley MS for Fan Art
Shelby Orange of Creekview HS for Influential Book Print Video
Harrison Smock of Liberty ES for Historical Fiction Infographic

Third-Place Awards
Aryn Bracewell and Grace Brake of Teasley MS for Current Issues Portfolio
Elena Kubit and Shelby Orange of Creekview HS for Library Video Commercial
Karen Lopp of Mill Creek MS for Poem  
Timi Ojo of E.T. Booth MS for “Like, Try, Why” Social Media Graphic 
Rishabh Pandya of Clark Creek ES STEM Academy for Digital Cover Redesign and Promotional Flyer
Carlianne Timbol of Mill Creek MS for Infographic
Ashley Wang of E.T. Booth MS for Book Review Vlog 

Tau Omicron Mu Epsilon Honor Society Inductees
River Ridge HS senior Sydney Ellenberger
Creekview HS senior Elena Kubit
Creekview HS junior Shelby Orange