Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

10 CCSD Seniors Named 2022 Georgia Scholars

10 CCSD Seniors Named 2022 Georgia Scholars

Ten Cherokee County School District high school seniors have been selected for the prestigious Georgia Scholar recognition!

The Georgia Department of Education program honors high school seniors who exhibit excellence in their school and community life.  Honorees demonstrate dedication to academic success, participation in interscholastic events and leadership through extra-curricular activities.  

Only 216 seniors statewide earned the honor for the Class of 2022.  The Georgia Scholars from CCSD are: Madison Mathews of Cherokee High School; and from Creekview High School, Justin Bolsen, Gabriella Etienne, Ellie Godwin, Ty Hubert, Keenan Kharrat, Abigail Martin, Ryan Meade, Callahan Pace and Michael Pena.

“We’re proud of each of these seniors for all of their successes as students – they have learned, they have served and they have led,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “This honor is another brilliant feather in their cap, and we look forward to celebrating with them as they walk across the stage at graduation next month.”

Each Georgia Scholar receives a seal for their diploma.  Learn more about the program at

“I offer my sincere congratulations to the 2022 Georgia Scholar honorees,” State Superintendent of Schools Richard Woods said. “These students have worked hard, become leaders in their schools and communities, and taken advantage of the opportunities offered in Georgia public schools.  I wish them well as they embark on their next steps after high school and know they’ll continue to make us all proud.”

The Cherokee County School Board and Dr. Hightower will recognize these students at a School Board meeting later this spring.